Aloha! I am back from my much-needed Hawaiian Vacation. And of course, now the back to school shopping frenzy has begun, therefore I am working a lot, therefore I have not written my promised vacation post. Never fear! Today I am actually getting around to it!

This year, we hadn’t really planned on taking a vacation at all. We thought we might just go to the coast for a few days, but nothing BIG was planned. However, when my mom found a good deal, we ended up in Kauai!

Now, let me just say this: I will not do well in the real world. After only a few months of working, I was really glad to get away on vacation. What will I do when I have to face real life outside of my cushy college existence? It will not be a pretty sight, my friends.

ANYWAY. We had ten days in Kauai(though two of those days were really travel days). I guess I didn’t realize just how long it would take to get there, but it took a good 8ish hours total, and we didn’t bring any food. . .  I was not the happiest about this. My mom was convinced the flight was only 5 hours. . . how she got to this number I have no idea, but I guess I shouldn’t be surprised given her notoriously bad knowledge of geography.

In any case, we landed, made our way to our “Resort Condominiums,” got some food, and passed out at around 9 pm.

During our first few days in Kauai, we mainly lazed about at the beach, swam in the ocean, read a book, etc. My big outing during this time was to the garden at our Condos, which was actually pretty amazing (see pics below). Truthfully, despite how beautiful and relaxing this was, at this point I was getting a leeeetle antsy.

Orchids from the gardens

 

 

 

Luckily, the next day we headed out to a farmers market in Hanapepe, a few miles down the coast. I loved it so much that we went back the day after to do a little more exploring. While in Hanapepe, we ate at an awesome coffee shop called Little Fish (I recommend the mexican jumping bean) and discovered the country’s western most independent bookstore (which made my heart flutter a little. While there, I found a book for my mom involving Downton Abbey (and who can say no to that?!).

Old Sugar mill on the way to Hanapepe

The book store!!!

Canal in Hanapepe

After adventuring to Hanapepe, we spent the next day at Salt Pond Beach state Park, right outside of Hanapepe. There was a beautiful beach there, as well as historic salt pans, which are still used by some families today to collect salt from.

Man working in the salt pans

After another day at the beach, we made a long drive around the rest of the Island. We first stopped at the Menehune Fish pond, outside of Lihue, the Island’s largest town. The fish pond, in addition to providing excellent views, is historically significant. The pond is man-made and included a gate that would let fish in, but not out, allowing men to trap the fish there and raise them, similar to a fish hatchery today.

Menehune Fish pond

This post to be continued. . .  Look for part two of my Kauai vacation, coming soon!

