I know it’s been awhile! I have been working pretty long days, and keep meaning to write, but, ya know that’s life. The things that don’t have to get done get pushed to the side *sigh*

Anyway. As a side effect of working as much as I have been, I strive to make every day off count! While trolling the internet for some fun (and free!) ideas of things to do in Portland, I stumbled across this. It’s Hamlet staged in a cemetery guys!!!! I know this is not everybody’s kind of thing, but I got super excited about it, texted my friend, hit up Chipotle for a dinner to go, and we headed to the Lone Fir Pioneer Cemetery for a performance of Hamlet!

I was initially a little worried about sitting on someone’s grave, but because of where it was staged in the cemetery, we were just sitting on a lawn. The performance was absolutely great! And free(although donations are appreciated). I was really surprised with the quality of the performance, the costumes, etc. The whole thing blew me away and I am so glad I took the opportunity to go!

Unfortunately my timing is terrible, because the last Cemetery performance was last night (oops!), but if you are in the Portland area and looking for some quality Shakespeare, you can still see the Portland Actors Ensemble perform Hamlet at the Portland Outdoor Shakespeare Festival, July 21st at 7pm! Also here.

And, guess what?! From July 21st through September 3rd, you can see the Ensemble performing Twelfth Night, or What you Will, at various outdoor locations in and around Portland! Info for that is also here.

After seeing their performance of Hamlet, I will definitely try to make it to Twelfth Night.

The pictures I have of the performance are not very good (no flash allowed), but here they are, for your viewing pleasure:

For those of you in the Portland area, I highly recommend taking in one of these performances! And for those of you elsewhere, look into similar outdoor performances in your area! Free, fun, and so so worth it!

