Hi all,

So, I have been a little delayed in posting Craftastic Part 2 (but it is coming, I promise!) because I have been enjoying my time off work so very much.

We say in Portland that it’s not summer until the 4th of July. This definitely rang true this year– after a good month and a half of rainy, overcast weather, I woke up on the fourth of July to sun streaming through the window, and the meteorologist on tv promising temperatures in the 80’s! Finally! . . . And then I went to work. Sigh.

Yes, working in retail, I was supposed to work from morning until evening on the fourth of July. I was more than a little bummed that I would be cooped up inside all day, on the first nice day in ages, and not really doing anything anyway since no one would be in the store on such a beautiful day. But, I made the most of it and tried to keep busy doing my job. Brownie points for me! I showed such enthusiasm to get stuff done my manager rewarded me by letting me leave at 2!

Woo hoo! So, I went on a bike ride with the fam in the afternoon and then came home to prepare the picnic. The 4th is usually pretty low-key for my family, and with my brother gallivanting about the UK this summer, was seeming even more lackluster. So I decided I actually wanted to do something this year. After scanning the internet for ideas, I decided on watching fireworks from Council Crest.

For those of you who have never been (or never been to Portland for that matter), Council Crest is the highest point in Portland (i.e. a HUGE hill). Apparently it used to be an amusement park at the turn of the century, but now it is just a nice park with some trails and a beautiful view of the city and on into Washington from one side of the hill, and on the other, a view out into the metro area (Beaverton, Hillsboro, Tigard, etc).

The circular patio at the top of Council Crest

View of Portland metro area

A really bad pic of fireworks

So,  we packed up a picnic, and headed up to Council Crest. Be warned: it is winding and pretty confusing, so bring a map/google directions/your gps if you are unfamiliar with the area and want to go check it out. Once there, we spread out our blanket and dug in. The fireworks show on the waterfront started at 10, but the view as the sun set was gorgeous, and we got to see tons of fireworks going off across Portland and across the river in Washington.

The main event, the waterfront show, was absolutely beautiful! I am so glad we went up to Council Crest instead of going to the waterfront. I’m not a fan of huge crowds or super loud noises, so it worked perfectly for us, and we had a great view of the show from our spot on the lawn.

Now that I have been, I would definitely recommend it! A great way to spend the fourth, or even to just enjoy a picnic and sunset on a clear summer day!

Hope everyone had a great 4th as well, however you chose to spend it!

