Hi all!

On my recent day off work, I finally got around to tackling a few pinterest inspired craft projects, yay!

So, because I have to leave for work soon, but wanted to post at least part of my recent craftiness, I decided to break it up into two parts. Part two will be coming soon. . . like tomorrow.

But now for part 1! So, I saw a pin of a sharpie decorated mug from here, and decided to do my own sharpie mug. As I am a huge(!!!) fan of Jane Austen, and had been eyeing a Jane Austen mug, I decided I could easily make my own!

I hit up dollar tree for a couple of $1 mugs, and then used some sharpie’s that I already had at home. I’m thinkin if you wanted a different shape or style of mug you could always do a little thrifting and go to goodwill or another second-hand store to give your own mug a little more flair ๐Ÿ™‚

On one side of my mug, I have “I’d rather be reading Jane Austen”

Then around the rest of the mug, I wrote some of my favorite quotes from Pride and Prejudice and Emma.

After decorating the mug, I put it into the oven at 350 F for 30 minutes to make the sharpie permanent.

My mug might not be perfect, but it isย personal, and I love it! I had originally bought a few mugs in case I messed mine up, but the beauty of this project is that if you make a mistake (before you have put it into the oven) you can wipe it off with a little water and a paper towel ๐Ÿ™‚

To sum up:

Materials: White ceramic mug, sharpies

Cost: $1 (thanks to the dollar tree)

Time: about 20 minutes to decorate, 30 mins to bake

 

So, if you are just yearning for that perfect mug for your coffee or tea, maybe you will be inspired to create your own!

 

 

