Since my dad has both his birthday and Father’s day in June, Father’s day is usually pretty low key for my family. But, I still like to do a little something for him, since it’s the thought that counts and all.

So this year, I had a brilliant plan. A few months ago, while scanning pinterest, I saw a picture of little cookies that looked like tea bags, shortbread dipped in chocolate mmmmmm. My dad is Irish, therefore, he has a high level of tea consumption, and as such, I knew these cookies would make a fun little gift for Dad’s day.

I’m not really much of a planner, I generally just get an idea and go with it, which is how I made these cookies. So, as a disclaimer, this is not a foolproof way to make tea cookies, but it worked well enough for me 🙂

So here’s how it went down:

First, I found a simple recipe for shortbread. I only wanted to make a few cookies, so I cut the recipe in half. Even then, it made a good 2 dozen tea bag cookies, plus I ended up with extra dough, so it is now sitting in the freezer waiting for when the shortbread mood strikes.

Ingredients:

1 cup butter (2 sticks), softened

1/2 cup white sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

For chocolate dip:

1/3 cup chocolate chips

1 tsp shortening

So, now:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

cream butter and sugar until fluffy

Image

Stir in the vanilla, add the flour, and mix well.

Collect the dough into a ball

I originally attempted to put said dough ball on floured counter, it didn’t work so well. Instead I would suggest that you use parchment paper and flour that.

Image

Also, rolling out the dough was rather difficult, so I used two pieces of parchment paper, and rolled the dough out in between the two pieces of parchment paper.

Image

To get the tea bag shape, I used the wrapping of a Lipton’s tea bag to use as a form. I ended up tracing the outline onto parchment paper, cutting it out, and then just cutting the shapes out of the dough using my tea bag shape to trace around, but You could probably just free hand it if you do not have tea bags laying around

Image

Next, using a skewer stick, I poked holes in the tops of the cookies

Image

I lined the baking pan with parchment paper before laying out the cookies, by the way. After all your cookies are cut out, placed on the baking sheet, and poked with the skewer, bake them for 10-12 minutes.

Let the cookies cool, and in the meantime melt your chocolate chips with the shortening and stir. After the cookies have cooled, you can dip them in the chocolate. I found that what worked best was to drizzle the cookie with chocolate, and then let the excess drip off, since dipping resulted in a few broken cookies

ImageImage

After dipping all the cookies in chocolate, lay them back onto the parchment lined baking sheet and place in the fridge to harden. I left them in overnight (because I made them late the night before Father’s day, but they need to be in there to cool for at least 1-2 hours.

Image

Optional: make a little tea tag to tie onto your cookie. For dad’s day I made little tags that said “Happy Father’s Day,” attached them with thread, and stapled the tag. This could work for pretty much any occasion, just change your message to fit the day 🙂

Image

I was happily surprised by how well these turned out 🙂 They were delicious (ok, I may have sampled some of the broken ones), and my dad loved them, and had two with his tea that night 🙂

Happy belated Father’s day everybody!

