Since I had no *real* ideas for a blog post today but wanted to write something, I have decided to vent about the current state of the weather here in the Portland metro area. First of all, WHY? Every year, the great northwest tricks me into believing that summer has arrived. This year in particular, much of late April and early May were absolutely gorgeous: sunshine, blue skies, 80 degrees. . .

But all that is yanked away from us in June. The month of despair. The month you question why it is you chose to live in the northwest. Maybe I’m being the tiniest bit dramatic here. But really. It has been pouring, day after day for the last 2.5 weeks. I am not kidding.

This evening, as the rain had stopped, and I wanted out of the house, I decided to take my two dogs for a walk. The neighborhood in which I live backs up to a nature park, where I routinely like to take a walk in *nature.* It is generally a very calming, relaxing stroll, but not today. NOT TODAY.

As a result of the relentless rain, today was the day of . . . (insert “dun dun dun” horror music here) the mass slug orgy. If there is one (of many) things I hate, loathe, and despise, it is slugs. I squeal (screech?) like a 12 year old at a Justin Bieber concert when I come into contact with one. So imagine my utter horror when, as we rounded the corner and headed down the concrete path into the woods, I was confronted by the sight of slugs. SLUGS EVERYWHERE.

In my efforts to avoid stepping on them myself, and trying to guide my not very obedient dogs around them as well, the end was inevitable. Many a slug was squished by my dogs paws. Why would I want to preserve these creatures I so despise? It really has nothing to do with me wanting to save them, rather I am only trying to preserve my sanity. When I see a slug squished, my mind immediately replays over and over the nasty, slimy, oozyness that stepping on a slug creates. Just typing this is making me cringe and shiver.

AND, I had to go back for round two as I headed home. Now, to save myself from the horror of the slugs surrounding me for a second time, I mentally cursed the stupid slugs. What makes you think it is a good idea to crawl out of the abyss of ugly from which you came onto the sidewalk where you inevitably meet your end? My coping mechanism of silently lecturing the vile creatures helped me escape unscathed, but now I am sitting here thinking about it. . . and I have realized the worst part of this whole thing. I had no idea just how many slugs there were in my vicinity, and now I know:

THEY ARE LURKING EVERYWHERE    : o

