So I have been seeing a lot of washi-tape-decorated keyboards lately, such as the ones featured  here and here, and I was really liking the poppy, fun, dose of color this sticker-type tape provides your keyboard. Since I was not familiar to Washi tape before this, I googled it- so for those of you not in the now (like myself): Washi tape is a Japanese “paper tape”/masking tape that isn’t super sticky (a bit like painters tape) and therefore won’t leave a sticky residue on your keyboard.

Since I liked the keyboard makeover idea so much, I decided to try it out myself! You can order washi tape from Etsy, or even Amazon, but since I’m the kind of girl who really goes for instant gratification, I hit up my local Michael’s craft store on the off-chance that I could find some of this magical tape. Lo and behold, they had some stationary/scrapbooking tape that was very similar to washi tape (it is called K&C Company Smash tape). While you can buy various different patterns of tape, the roll I found had various patterns all in one roll, so I just bought the one roll – all 3ft of it- for about $2.

Once I got home, I got to work. There might be a better way of going about this, but I just eye-balled it and trimmed the tape to fit the keys. Because my laptop has black keys with white letters, some of the keys were harder to see under certain patterns. So, I traced over the letters with a thin tip sharpie after I had finished applying the tape.

It took me about an hour and a half to get this far with my keyboard makeover:

I’m not just being lazy here, but I kind of like leaving some of the keys unadorned. . . I could still cover all the other keys (still have plenty of tape), but I’m really liking it this way. So, what do you think? Should I cover all keys completely, or leave it as is?

Whichever way I decide to go, I love opening up my laptop and smiling at the new pop of colors and patterns that greets me :)

